Film Databases
Search in these databases to learn more about and to view films:
- Film Index International Home Page
"Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides truly international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries." - Filmakers Library Online
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—This release now provides 924 titles, equaling approximately 738 hours. - International Index to Performing Arts Full Text
Welcome to IIPA, a performing arts journal resource with over 400,000 indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1864 to the present, covering film, theatre, and dance. - Video Librarian Plus
Comments (0)
Find Articles
These databases provide excellent articles on "diversity."
- Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. - African-American History Online

- American Indian History Online

- American Indian History Online

- Associations Unlimited
This resource provides organizational and institutional information including websites when available. Enter ACRONYMS, subjects or group names. - Contemporary Women's Issues
This resource includes selected full-text from the alternative & esoteric press on a global scale. - Gender Watch
This resource provides access to full-text in various journals and magazines supporting gender issues. - JSTOR
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals. - Opposing Viewpoints
This resource is one stop shopping for societal issues. - ProQuest Central
Access to over 10,000 full-text academic discipline journals. - Social Science Citation Index Expanded
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. - Social Theory
Social Theory offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization - SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. - Wiley InterScience
Wiley InterScience provides access to over 3 million articles across nearly 1500 journals and 7000 Online Books and major reference works.
What is Diversity?
Film Weblinks
Click on these weblinks to view external sources for films:
- Documentary Heaven
Documentary Heaven is a site filled with hundreds of free online documentaries just waiting to be seen. - POV on PBS
POV (a cinema term for "point of view") is television's longest-running showcase for independent non-fiction films. POV premieres 14-16 of the best, boldest and most innovative programs every year on PBS. Since 1988, POV has presented over 300 films to public television audiences across the country. POV films are known for their intimacy, their unforgettable storytelling and their timeliness, putting a human face on contemporary social issues. - "People Like Us" Companion on PBS
Welcome to the "People Like Us" Web site. It's a companion to the PBS documentary special — a place to learn how social class works in America and to test your own preconceptions about who belongs where on the social scale. - Women Make Movies
Established in 1972 to address the under representation and misrepresentation of women in the media industry, Women Make Movies is a multicultural, multiracial, non-profit media arts organization which facilitates the production, promotion, distribution and exhibition of independent films and videotapes by and about women. - Bullfrog Films
We define "environment" broadly and our collection includes programs on ecology, energy, agriculture, indigenous peoples, women's studies, genetics, marine biology, sustainable development, community regeneration, economics, ethics, and conflict resolution. In recent years we have released many films about developing countries, globalization, changing gender roles, and human rights. Styles range from animation to drama and from personal essay to investigative documentary. There are programs suit - Media Education Foundation
The Media Education Foundation produces and distributes documentary films and other educational resources to inspire critical reflection on the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media.
Citing Your Resources
An intregal part of writing a research paper is citing your resources. There are specific style guides that you will follow depending on your area of study. Your professor will tell you which style you need to use.
- Citing Your Sources
- Help With Citing (APA, Chicago, MLA)
- APA Formatting and Style Guide
- Citing Sources in APA Style
- APA Style Crib Sheet for College Papers
- APA (Style) Lite for College Papers
- Basics of APA Style Tutorial From APA.org, uses Flash technology
- FAQs about APA Style
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide
- Citing Sources in MLA Style
- CBE Documentation: from the Writing Center at University of Wisconsin-Madison
- CSE Quick Citation Guide
My Profile |
Library Hours
Your thoughts?
Writing Assistance on Campus
Visit the Writing Center in Whitewater Hall, Room 206 to get assistance with writing papers or visit their website at http://www.iue.edu/hss/writingcenter/.



Loading...
