Subject Databases
Must have an IU East User ID to use the following resources:
- Humanities International Index
- International Index to Music Periodicals
- International Index to Performing Arts-Journals
- Library Music Source
The largest collection of Western Classical sheet music ever assembled is now available via the internet from LibraryMusicSource.com.
Authorized users will have access and command of over 300,000 pages of sheet music from over 35,000 works including the entire piano works of Chopin, all the songs of Schubert, all the organ music of J. S. Bach, and all the orchestra parts and scores of Beethoven, to cite only a few examples - Naxos Jazz Library
The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz include famous Jazz Legends and Historicals, new selected titles of other leading independent labels are added every month. - Naxos Music Library
Library of online music for use by academic music programs. - Naxos Spoken Word Library
Contains the world's greatest literature - many classic novels, plays and poetry, from medieval times to the twenty-first century under various categories, such as Children’s Classics, Classic Fiction, Shakespeare’s Plays. New titles are added every month. Includes Music Biography. - Oxford Music Online
Grove's Music Resources - ProQuest Dissertations and Thesis OnlineCitations
Variations/ Starr-Gennett Recordings!
Variations is software providing access to digital recordings of some music files. Created at Indiana University in Bloomington Indiana, this tool accesses the Starr-Gennett recordings. You
must physically be at the IU East-Campus Library to use these
materials. From the PDF document below the "digitized recordings are provided by a joint project between the IU Digital Library Program, IU Archives of Traditional Music (ATM), and the Starr-Gennett Foundation; funded by an LSTA grant from the Indiana State Library. Recordings come from the collections of both the ATM and the Starr-Gennett Foundation."
Sheet Music Links:Subscription Based
This section will direct you to resources individuals may subscribe to on a per year basis.
- 8notes Subscription Sheet Music
Individual subscriptions. The site includes some free resources and basic music theory tutorials. - Alexander Street Press Sheet Music
Subscription database---not currently accessed by IU East. Classical Scores Library will contain 400,000 pages of classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works. - Every Note
Subscription service-institutional option - IMSLP: Petrucci Music Library
Free resources - Virtual Sheet Music
Individual membership & some free resources
Sheet Music Collections: Free
- African American Sheet Music- 1859-1920
Part of the American Memory Project at the Library of Congress - America Singing: 19th-Century Song Sheets
Part of the American Memory Project at the Library of Congress - Duke University: Sheet Music Resource page.

- Historic American Sheet Music
Part of the American Memory Project at the Library of Congress - IMSLP: Petrucci Music Library
Free resources - Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music
Part of the American Memory Project at the Library of Congress - ChoralWiki: Choral Public Domain Library
Founded in December 1998, CPDL was ported to ChoralWiki in August 2005.
Here you will find free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information. - Victorian Popular Music-British Library Collections
Some sheet music. Freely available. - INHarmony-Indiana University Sheet Online Music Collection

- Hoagy Carmichael Collection: Indiana University

- Julliard Manuscript Collection

- Music Scores: site for public domain scores

- Mutopia

- Score On-Line
Consortium of libraries-digital resources
My Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides What I do in the Library: E-Resources Librarian |
Loading...
