This is the "Home" page of the "A-Z Resource List" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Campus Library image
     Library-Home      IUE LibGuides        A-Z List      IUE LibAnswers      Find-It      Oncourse      OneStart      IU's-Knowledge-Base
     Local library services for IU East and Ivy Tech      765-973-8311      Hayes Hall, 2325 Chester Blvd      Richmond, IN 47374

A-Z Resource List  

This guide includes databases and freely available resources. Choose the tab-letter of the database title's first letter you are trying to locate. The databases lists are arranged alphabetically.
Last Updated: Apr 11, 2014 URL: http://iue.libguides.com/A-ZList Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases-explanation

Throughout your college career, you will need to do research. Some programs require more research than others, but everyone gets the opportunity eventually. We can help!  We have a number of resources available to ease your research needs, and our knowledgeable staff is on-hand to guide you to the sources to best suit you.

Images are assigned to each databases indicating login requirements and other resource features:

  • this image indicates a subscription database requiring your IU East username and password.
  • this image indicates a freely available, selected website.
  •  this image indicates an available Tutorial for the database. Click the T-icon to access the Tutorial.
  • this image indicates reference and basic information resources: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, etc.
  • this image indicates databases that include peer-reviewed, scholarly articles.
  • this image indicates databases that include controversial, issue based articles.
  • this image indicates an available Video for the database and resources that include streaming and in-library videos. Click the V-icon to access the Tutorial.
  • this image indicates databases accessible to Ivy Tech students.

We may not have some of the articles you found at our campus. Fortunately, you can use ILLIAD, our Inter-Library Loan service to obtain these articles from other campuses.

If you're having trouble accessing any of the databases, please let us know.
Also see:

 

What is Refereed/Peer-Reviewed?

CONCEPT of REFEREED/PEER REVEIW: 
Experts in a field (singly or several people) review an author's work by its written description for methods, plausibility, completeness, ethics, etc. to "weed-out" poorly documented/conceived research, implausible research, poorly constructed research, dishonest research,etc. The hard sciences may also apply a more stringent idea of peer-reviewed by including the idea of blind peer-review. This kind of peer review excludes author and other personal information from the review process. In this case the "editor" as a peer-reviewer is removed from the process.

Search Databases by Subject

Another option to find databases and articles is by reviewing subject resources. Please use the linked-list below:

 

Ask Us!

 Serving the IU East Community 24/7

Ask your library questions! Submit the question and it will be answered through email by library staff. A response will be sent to you in 24 hours.

Q&A 24x7

Search LibAnswers to see if someone else has already asked your question!

 

Find a Full-Text Journal

Working from a citation? Need an e-book?
Enter a journal or book title here to see which databases provide full-text.

Scholarly vs. Popular

Scholarly articles are published in journals. Popular articles are published in magazines.  Scholarly articles are sometimes called Peer-reviewed or Refereed. These articles generally include: a research statement/question, brief literature review, methods, discussion, tests/studies, questions, outcomes, conclusions and references.  A popular article is written in general language that is well understood by most readers.  A scholarly article is written for individuals familiar with the subject.

Library Services

Profile Image
IU East Campus Library
Logo - Facebook
Contact Info
2325 Chester Blvd
Hayes Hall
Richmond, Indiana 47374

765-973-8311

Ask for Help!

Our staff experts can help direct you to the answers you seek. If you've got a question you just can't find the answer to, or simply don't know where to begin, let us help you.

See what our reference services can offer you!

      

    Didn't find what you were looking for? Contact the Campus Library LibGuide administrator email. Phone-765-973-8311 for assistance.

    Campus Library, IU East
    2325 Chester Blvd.
    Richmond, IN 47374

    © 2011 Trustees of Indiana University

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip